The Policy Team


Staff are responsible for developing, maintaining, and archiving University Policies and Standards, which are published in the University Policy and Standards Manual (UPSM). Staff manages all aspects of university policy development, including review and vetting by the Policy Advisory Group and review and endorsement by the Executive Policy and Standards Committee. Staff continuously work to enhance our policy program to better meet the needs of the university community, and welcomes your suggestions to help us in these efforts.

University Policy and Standards Specialist: Katheryn Yetter, J.D.; available by email and by phone at (541) 737-7004.

Administrative Assistant and Scheduler: Diane Jones; available by email and by phone at (541) 737-7784.

The Policy Advisory Group

The Policy Advisory Group (PAG) ensures that the policymaking process benefits from broad input from across the university by (1) serving as the liaison between their unit and the university policy-making process, (2) providing feedback on proposed amendments to the UPSM, (3) helping ensure that amendments are enacted in a manner that do not create an unintended burden on any unit, and (4) identifying potential conflicts or concerns before a University Policy or University Standard is enacted into the UPSM.

Currently, 25 units and departments are represented on the PAG, including OSU-Cascades, the Hatfield Marine Science Center, and OSU Extension Services.

The Executive Policy and Standards Committee

The Executive Policy and Standards Committee has final review of draft amendments to the University Policy and Standards Manual and may endorse sending proposed amendments to the President for approval, recommend revisions or additional actions, or recommend rejecting amendments. The EPSC may request additional information, discussion, analysis, and/or input from subject-matter experts, or any other actions prior to making a final recommendation on an amendment. Recommendations are forwarded when an amendment is favored by 3 of the 5 members. The EPSC’s recommendations are presented to the President, who has final approval on changes to the UPSM.


  • Provost and Executive Vice President (Chair)
  • Vice President for Finance & Administration
  • Vice President for Research
  • Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Faculty Senate President


  • General Counsel
  • Chief Executive of Audit, Risk, and Compliance