Effective July 1, 2014, Oregon State University (OSU) became a separate legal entity from the Oregon University System. With its own Board of Trustees, OSU is no longer governed by the State Board of Higher Education (SBHE). As a result of the legislation effecting this governance transition, OSU has different authorities than it previously had, and rather than promulgating Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs), it will provide university policies or university standards. Policies govern the OSU community of faculty, staff, and students, while standards govern all individuals and have the force of law.

Former OARs in Chapter 576, previously promulgated by OSU, were repealed on June 30, 2014, and were readopted as university policies or university standards in substantially identical form on July 1, 2014. For convenience during this transition period, university policies and university standards that were previously OARs will maintain their previous OAR numbers, without the “OAR” designator.

Chapter 580 of the OARs, previously promulgated by the SBHE, are now incorporated into OSU Policies and Standards, retaining their previous OAR numbers without the “OAR” designator. SBHE policies and Internal Management Directives (IMDs) are now OSU Policies.

To interpret the Chapter 580 Standards and Policies and former SBHE policies/IMDs during this transition period, note that “Board” or “State Board of Higher Education” now refers to OSU’s Board of Trustees; “Chancellor” means “President;” “Institution” means OSU; and so on.

This website collects all of the applicable OSU Policies and Standards that were previously SBHE Chapter 580 OARs, SBHE Policies, SBHE IMDs, or OSU Chapter 576 OARs, as well as new University-wide Policies or Standards promulgated after July 1, 2014.